How To – Water Marble Decal

image

Have you ever tried to do water marble mani? Aren’t they gorgeous! But it does make a mess, right? And not to mention, you’ll need a hell of a lot of tape. Have you ever wondered if there’s an easier (and cleaner) way to marble your nails?

Well, actually I think there is… I found a way to make it easier for me. I made the marbled design to sort of a decal thing, and thought I’d share how. 🙂

image

After doing the design, I waited for it to be completely dry. Like 10 to 15 minutes or so. You could use a bigger bowl so you could get out a design big enough for couple of nails, or like me I used two small cups.

When it’s already dry, I took it out of the water and lay the wet surface (the one that’s right above the water) on a paper towel, waited for a couple more minutes.

Since my white base polish was already dry, I layered a clear coat on before placing the marbled “decal” on my nail. Then I used a metal cuticle pusher to shape or like slice the decal according to my nail shape, cut the tip part using a nipper. Another layer of clear coat, and done. 🙂

image

Did I mention there’s no tape needed? And less clean up? Lol

Well, hope this helps!  Tell me if ever you’re going to try it out, I wanna know if it’ll also work for you. 🙂

Xx — A.

19 thoughts on “How To – Water Marble Decal

  1. What brand of polish did you use? And does the water temperature make a difference?
    I’m having trouble reproducing the pattern, wondering what I could be doing different. Thank you in advance.

    • I have used several different types of polish. Your water needs to be room temp. I usually get my tap water running just til it is warm. Have the colors of polish tops loosened and ready to use so that they will spread out.

  2. Ok, I have a couple of questions. I have only tried the water marble thing once, but realized that there are some “tips” or “hints” left out of most tutorials. First, when I did my first drip of polish into the water, it moved very quickly to the side of the cup, and I could see a “film” from the polish spread over the water. Why did this happen, and how do I fix that? Second, the next drip I did, stayed in the middle (I assume cause of that “film” that spread from the first drip of polish….however, the one that stayed in the middle, it didn’t “spread open”….even when I dropped the alternating color in the middle of the last drip. They stay Very little….? What might I be doing wrong? Third, I tried to take a toothpick and make the swirl, or the pedals….I went from the outside and tried dragging the toothpick towards the middle…..I wasn’t able to cause it was hard. Like it was dried. So I just figured, I’ll try and at least get this on my finger…..the middle, where I dropped all the polish, was like a big bump. Like I had stacked the polish….cause basically that’s what I had done…..? I like the idea of your method…..but I still need to figure out what I’m doing wrong on those first steps. Can you help me? Thank you, Jacquie

    • Thicker polishes tend to clump when you drop them. If you have an older polish that has started to thicken, thin it out with some rubbing alcohol first. Also, tap the bowl a time or two to “loosen” the drop that won’t spread. Most tutorials don’t tell you this, but you have to work a little fast. Once the polish hits the water it starts to congeal.

  3. I don’t use tape but vaseline which works well. But I never get the design I want all the time so def. trying this 😉

  4. Great idea! I’ve watched several tutorials on water marble and it looks complicated, but this one is the easiest and neatest! You definitely made me want to actually do this.

  5. Pingback: NOTD – Rainbow Water Marble Nails | ★ Galaxy Star 7 ★

Leave a Reply

